The Queen and Honours

As ‘fountain of honor ‘ in the UK, The Queen has the lone right of conferring titles of honor on deserving people from all walks of life, in public recognition of their merit, serve or fearlessness. The most well-known honours are probably MBEs, OBEs and CBEs, but there are a whole image of other honours that The Queen awards in addition to these, such as The Order of Merit, or The arrange of St Michael and St George .
Recipients collect their awards from The Queen or another Member of the Royal Family at an coronation ceremony .
Most honours are awarded on the advice of the Cabinet Office, and anybody can make a recommendation if they know person they believe to be worthy ( see ‘Honours nominating speech ‘ ) .
sometimes, on the advice of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, honorary decorations are awarded to people who are neither british nor Commonwealth nationals but who have made a significant contribution to relations between the UK and their own area. This is known as an honorary award.

Honours recipients are announced twice a year, once in the New Year ‘s Honours List, and once on The Queen ‘s official birthday. separate military lists are published known as functional lists and cover military bodily process oversea .
sometimes Orders are exchanged between The Queen and overseas Heads of State as formal and official awards by which one nation honours another .

History of the Honours System

Throughout history, monarchs have rewarded those who have shown overhaul, commitment or heroism with gifts or titles .
After chivalric times, physical gifts such as state or money were replaced by the award of knighthoods and of membership within Orders of chivalry, accompanied by insignia such as gold or ash grey chains .
As the UK Government evolved and Parliament ‘s legislative function grew in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, the Cabinet took over the function of selecting honor recipients .
Until the beginning of the nineteenth hundred, only members of the gentry and high-level military figures could be appointed to an club of chivalry, but from then onwards appointments were drawn from a wider kind of backgrounds. In 1917 the Queen ‘s grandfather, George V, developed a new holy order of chivalry, called the order of the british Empire, as a way of rewarding both men and women who had made an great contribution to the WWI war effort. Nowadays the arrange of the british Empire rewards service in a wide range of areas, from acting to charity work, with honours that include the long-familiar MBE and OBE .

Types of Honours

The Order of the Garter
This is the oldest and most senior order of chivalry in Britain ; it is limited to 24 members who are selected and appointed personally by The Queen .
The Order of the Thistle
Recognising sixteen knights by personal gift of The Queen, this is the highest arrange of chivalry in Scotland .
Order of St Patrick
The national Order of Ireland, this lapsed in 1974 with the death of the death outlive recipient .
Order of the British Empire
Instituted in 1917 by George V to reward outstanding contribution to the war effort, this decree nowadays rewards people from all walks of life with long-familiar honours such as MBEs and OBEs .
Order of Merit
The sole endowment of the Sovereign to 24 members at any one time, this rewards those who have achieved greatly in the arts, eruditeness, literature and skill .

Companions of Honour
sometimes regarded as a junior class of the Order of Merit, this Order rewards 65 individuals at any one time who have made a longstanding contribution to arts, science, medicine or government .
Order of the Bath
Including by members such as Nelson and Wellington, this order recognises the exercise of senior military officials and civil servants .
Order of St Michael and St George
This regulate rewards service in a alien nation, or in sexual intercourse to extraneous and Commonwealth affairs .
Royal Victorian Order
The personal give of the Sovereign, this honor is awarded to those who have served The Queen or the monarchy in a particular way .
Royal Family Orders
These are small portraits of the Sovereign attached to ribbon, gifted to Members of the Royal Family .
Commonwealth Honours
commonwealth citizens can besides receive UK awards, and Commonwealth countries have their own honours, which are sometimes awarded to UK citizens .
Military Honours and Awards
There are respective different awards entirely for rewarding courage and great service in the Armed Forces, the highest of which is The Victoria Cross, which is awarded for heroism “ in the presence of the enemy. ” The second highest, The George Cross, is awarded to both the military and civilians for acts of the greatest heroism or for most blatant courage in circumstances of extreme danger, not in the face of the foe. The newest of these is The Elizabeth Cross, instigated in 2009 to recognise families who have lost loved ones as a leave of conflict or terrorism .
The Armed Forces besides award medals for campaigns, operations and for long service .
Civilian Honours and Awards
The Police, Fire and Ambulance Services besides have their own medals for identify service or chivalry. These are The Queen ’ sulfur Police Medal, The Queen ’ s Fire Service Medal and The Queen ’ s Ambulance Medal.

Honours Nomination

Anybody in the UK can make a recommendation for a british national to receive an honor. This ensures that many people who are not in the public eye are recognised for their valuable service and contribution, possibly to charity, to the emergency services, or to their industry or profession .
Honours are awarded on the advice of the Cabinet Office, who deal with all nominations .
To find out more, or to nominate person for an honor, please visit hypertext transfer protocol : // .

reference :
Category : Fashion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *